Daegu Go Sae Ade won the battle, and was embraced by the phoenix.

) The heavens chose Daegu High School as the winner of the phoenix tournament.

In the final game of the 51st National High School Baseball Tournament (co-hosted by The Korea Times and the Korea Baseball and Softball Association) held at Mokdong Stadium in Seoul on September 9, Daegu High School defeated Sejad 3-2 in extra innings in a close game that went down to the 10th inning.

Both teams played a tightly contested game, especially in the sixth inning, when neither team could get their offense going with sporadic hits. Daegu had the bases loaded in the bottom of the inning, but an infield fly and a fielder’s choice ended the threat.

After Daegu’s missed opportunity, Seadoo didn’t sit idle.메이저사이트

In the top of the seventh inning, with runners on first and second, No. 9 Kim Tae-hyun hit an exquisite double off the side of the third baseman to bring home the second run. On the next at-bat, the runner from third came home on a grounder in front of the pitcher. 2-0 Segwang lead.

The reversal came after two outs in the bottom of the ninth. With runners on second and third in the bottom of the ninth, Daegu tied the game with a two-run double to right-center field by No. 5 Yang Hyun-jong. It was a replay of the 2010 Bonghwangdae final.

Daegu completed a triple play on defense in the top of the 10th inning to end the inning on a high note. Then, in the bottom of the 10th, the offense scored the winning run on a squeeze bunt one out later. In 2010, the team rallied from a ninth-inning tie and a 10th-inning deficit to win the tournament for the first time in 13 years. In 2018, the team won the title for the fourth time in four years.

The tournament’s Most Valuable Player (MVP) honors went to sophomore Hyunjong Yang, who hit the game-winning hit with two outs in the ninth inning. Yang finished the tournament as a triple winner, finishing second in hits and third in RBIs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.