‘The controversial golf rule’… ‘Burns’ Power Driver’

This is the story of Sam Burns (USA). This happened in September of last year at the Country Club of Jackson (par 72, 7461 yards) in Jackson, Mississippi, USA, at the 9th hole (par 4) in the second round of the PGA Tour Sanderson Farms Championship (total prize money: $7.9 million). . Burns grabbed the driver and hit an exciting tee shot in the middle of the fairway. It was such a perfect shot that I felt the thrill of my hand at the moment of impact.

However, Burns’ batted ball caught the power lines. Golf Rule E-11 ‘A stroke is not counted if the ball is caught on the wire during a round. It was subject to the rule that ‘you have to shoot again without penalty’. Burns was a big disappointment. “It was a really good ball, but I felt bad when they told me to hit it again,” he said honestly.

Burns made the mistake of winding his second tee shot to the left, but luckily finished the hole with a par. Burns, the 2021 event champion, failed to achieve a second straight title. His final grade is a tie for 30th. Mackenzie Hughes (Canada) won after a second overtime game. 스포츠토토

Burns debuted on the PGA Tour in 2019 and is the 13th ranked player in the world with 4 wins in his career. He was also selected for the 2022 Presidents Cup, in which international teams excluding the United States and Europe clash. Long hits that average 309.4 yards are his main weapon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.